If you’re wondering whether or not weed is legal in Texas, you’re not alone. The Lone Star State has had a long and complicated history with cannabis, and the laws have changed a bit over the years.
Currently, possession of small amounts of weed is decriminalized in Texas. That means that if you’re caught with less than two ounces of marijuana, you’ll only be fined $500 – far less than the penalties for possession in other states.
However, the sale and cultivation of cannabis are still illegal in Texas. So if you’re looking to score some weed, you’ll need to head to a neighboring state.
Even though cannabis is technically illegal in Texas, there’s been a growing movement to change the laws in recent years. Several cities, including Austin and Houston, have passed ordinances decriminalizing possession of small amounts of weed.
And in November of 2016, most Texans voted in favor of legalizing medical marijuana. While the state legislature has yet to act on this measure, it’s clear that public opinion is shifting regarding cannabis.
Cannabis in Texas
It is illegal for both recreational and medicinal use. The penalties for possession and sale of cannabis are some of the harshest in the United States, with first-time offenders facing up to 180 days in jail and a $2,000 fine.
Despite the illegality of cannabis, Texas has a large and thriving black market for the drug. In addition, many cities in Texas have decriminalized possession of small amounts of cannabis, and there is growing support for full legalization.
The penalties for possession and sale of cannabis are some of the harshest in the United States, with first-time offenders facing up to 180 days in jail and a $2,000 fine. Despite the illegality of cannabis, Texas has a large and thriving black market for the drug.
In addition, several cities in Texas have decriminalized possession of small amounts of cannabis, and there is growing support for full legalization.
Cannabis has been illegal in Texas since 1907 when the state legislature passed a law criminalizing its sale and possession. However, law enforcement was sporadic, and it was not until 1931 that possession was a felony offense.
Since then, the penalties for possessing cannabis have become increasingly harsh, with first-time offenders facing up to 180 days in jail and a $2,000 fine. The sale or manufacture of the drug is punishable by up to life in prison.
Despite the strict laws against cannabis, the drug is widely available in Texas due to a large and thriving black market. In addition, several cities in Texas have decriminalized possession of small amounts of cannabis, and there is growing support for full legalization.
History of cannabis in Texas
Cannabis has been a part of Texas culture for centuries. Native Americans used the plant for various purposes, including medicine and spirituality. Cannabis was also grown by early settlers for fiber and other industrial uses.
However, cannabis was banned in Texas in 1929, following the passage of the Uniform State Narcotic Drug Act. This law made it illegal to consume or sell cannabis, setting the stage for decades of prohibition.
In 1973, Texas became the first state to decriminalize small amounts of cannabis, making possessing up to two ounces a misdemeanor offense. In fact, between 2001 and 2010, there were over 700,000 cannabis-related arrests in Texas.
The tide began to turn in 2015 when the Texas Legislature passed a law allowing patients with certain medical conditions to use cannabis oil. This was a major step forward but did not make cannabis legal for recreational use.
In 2019, lawmakers approved a measure that reduced penalties for possessing small amounts of cannabis. Under the new law, possession of up to two ounces is a Class C misdemeanor, punishable by a fine of up to $500.
The 2019 legislative session also saw the passage of a bill that expands the state’s medical cannabis program. The new law allows patients with a wider range of conditions to qualify for treatment with cannabis.
“Smoke a joint, lose your license” was repealed.
A new law came into action in Texas in 2021that repealed the state’s “Smoke a joint, lose your license” law. The old law had been in place since the early 1990s and allowed for the automatic suspension of a person’s driver’s license if they were convicted of any marijuana offense, regardless of whether or not the offense involved driving.
The law, which was passed by the Texas Legislature in 2019 and took effect on September 1, 2021, does away with the automatic license suspension penalty for marijuana offenses. The change applies retroactively to all offenses that occurred on or after September 1, 2021.
Medical program expansion
The legal status of weed in Texas took a turn for the better in 2015 when the state expanded its medical program. Now, patients with certain medical conditions can get a cannabis card that allows them to purchase and use marijuana for medicinal purposes. However, it’s still illegal to smoke weed recreationally in Texas.
So, if you’re looking to light up a joint in the Lone Star State, you’ll need to be a registered medical patient first.
Penalties for Marijuana Possession in Texas?
Possession of marijuana in Texas is a serious offense that can result in jail time and heavy fines. If you get caught by police with even a small amount of weed, you could face up to 180 days in prison and a $2,000 fine.
If caught with more than 4 ounces of weed, you could face up to 2 years in jail and a $10,000 fine.
You could face up to 99years in jail and a $50,000 fine if you are caught selling less than 7 grams of weed. If you are caught selling more than 7 grams of weed, you could face up to life in prison and a $250,000 fine. So, if you were thinking about dealing weed in Texas, think again – it is not worth the risk!
The penalties are also very severe if you are caught growing weed in Texas. You could face 5 years in prison and a $10,000 fine if caught growing less than 5 plants. If caught growing more than 5 plants, you could face up to life in prison and a $50,000 fine. So, if you were thinking about growing weed in Texas, you should definitely think twice – it is not worth the risk!
The legal status of weed in Texas has changed in recent years, with the state expanding its medical program and repealing the “Smoke a joint, lose your license” law. However, possession of marijuana is still a serious offense in the state, punishable by jail time and heavy fines. So, if you’re looking to light up a joint in Texas, you’ll need to be a registered medical patient first.
Read more: Is weed legal in Hawaii