Is Weed Legal in Arizona?

Is Weed Legal in Arizona

In the great state of Arizona, weed is legal! Sort of. Well, not really, but there are some places where you can smoke it without getting in trouble. And even though it’s not technically legal, more and more people are choosing to smoke marijuana instead of alcohol. So what’s the deal with weed in Arizona? Is it legal or not? Keep reading to find out!

Possession and Use

Yes, you can possess and use marijuana in Arizona if you are 21 or older. You can have up to 1 ounce, or 28 grams, of marijuana on you at any given time. There is no restriction to growing consumes marijuana in your own home. However, it is important to note that consuming marijuana in public is still illegal. This means you cannot smoke weed in a park, on the sidewalk, or in any other public place. For example, if you consume marijuana in public, you could be fined up to $2,500 and/or imprisoned for up to 6 months.

Growing Your Weed

Unfortunately, growing your weed is not legal in Arizona. Instead, only licensed dispensaries are allowed to grow marijuana.

Sales and Distribution

Only licensed dispensaries are allowed to sell and distribute marijuana in Arizona. You cannot sell weed purchased from a dispensary, even for personal use. If caught selling weed, you could be fined up to $150,000 and/or imprisoned for up to 3 years.

Law for Adult Use of Marijuana in Arizona

  • You must be an Adult to purchase, possess, or use marijuana in Arizona.
  • You may only purchase marijuana from a licensed dispensary.
  • You may possess up to one ounce of marijuana at a time for personal use.
  • You may grow up to six plants for personal use, but no more than 12 plants per household.
  • Smoking marijuana is prohibited in public places.
  • Driving while consuming marijuana is still illegal and can result in DUI charges.
  • Employers still have the right to maintain drug-free workplaces and may drug test employees.
  • Marijuana use is still prohibited on federal lands, including national parks and forests.
  • The sale of marijuana is subject to state and local taxes.

Licensing and Registration

If voters had approved it, the measure would have:

– Allowed adults 21 and older to possess and use marijuana for personal use; – Regulated the cultivation and sale of marijuana by licensed businesses; – Imposed a tax on the sale of marijuana; and – Prohibited possession or use of marijuana on public school grounds, with certain exceptions.

The measure would have taken effect on December 14, 2016.

Under the measure, individuals 21 and older would have been allowed to possess up to 28grams of marijuana and grow upto 6 plants. The measure would have also established a system of licensed businesses to cultivate, process, transport, and sell marijuana.

Sales of marijuana would have been subject to a tax of 15%. However, revenues from the tax would have been used for enforcement of the measure, public education, and healthcare costs associated with the use of marijuana.

The measure would have prohibited possession or use of marijuana on public school grounds, with certain exceptions. It would also have allowed employers to maintain drug-free workplaces and set their policies regarding employee drug testing and consumption of marijuana.

Those opposed & argued that it would lead to increased use of marijuana by minors, drugged driving, and crime. They also argued that the measure would conflict with federal law prohibiting the cultivation, sale, and possession of marijuana.

A supporter of the measure argued that it would allow adults to use marijuana for personal use and generate revenue for the state through taxes on drug sales. They also argued that the measure would provide a safe and regulated system for the cultivation and sale of marijuana.

Arizona Laws and Penalties

Possession of Marijuana in Arizona

Possession of marijuana is a crime in Arizona. The penalties for possession depend on the amount of marijuana involved and whether the offender has any prior drug convictions.

For first-time offenders, possession of up to two ounces of marijuana is a petty offense punishable by a fine of up to $300. The occupancy of more than two ounces of marijuana is a misdemeanor punishable by a fine of up to $750 and up to four months in jail. Possession of more than four ounces but less than one pound is a felony punishable by a fine of up to $750 and up to 18 months in prison. Possession of more than one pound but less than two pounds is a felony punishable by a fine of up to $750 and up to two years in prison. Possession of more than two pounds is a felony punishable by a fine of up to $750 and up to three years in prison.

Sale or Cultivation of Marijuana in Arizona

The sale or cultivation of marijuana is a crime in Arizona. The penalties for sale or cultivation depend on the amount of marijuana involved and whether the offender has any prior drug convictions.

For first-time offenders, selling or cultivating up to two pounds of marijuana is a felony punishable by a fine of up to $750 and up to 18 months in prison. Sale or cultivation of more than two pounds but less than four pounds is by a fine of up to $750 and up to three years in prison.

Suppose the offender has one prior drug conviction and the penalties for selling or cultivating marijuana increase. For example, selling or cultivating more than four pounds but less than eight pounds can result in a $750 fine and up to six years in prison.

Driving rules

It is illegal to drive under the influence of marijuana in Arizona. However, the penalties for driving under the influence depend on the offender’s blood alcohol content (BAC) and previous DUI convictions.

For first-time offenders, driving with a BAC of 0.08% or higher is a misdemeanor punishable by a fine of up to $1,250 and up to 90 days in jail. Driving with a BAC of 0.15% or higher is a felony punishable by a fine of up to $2,500 and up to four months in prison.

If the offender has one prior DUI conviction, the penalties for driving under the influence are increased. For example, driving with a BAC of 0.08% or higher is a felony punishable by a fine of up to $3,750 and up to seven months in prison. Driving with a BAC of 0.15% or higher is a felony punishable by a fine of up to $5,000 and up to nine months in prison.

Conclusion

So there you have it! Weed is technically legal in Arizona, but there are a few restrictions. Be sure to consume marijuana responsibly and know your rights as an Arizonan cannabis consumer. And if you have any questions, be sure to ask us!

Must Read: Is Weed Legal in Arizona?

Is Weed Legal in New York?

Leave a Comment